Christmas Spritz Cookies

Christmas Spritz Cookies via elisebakesI came across this recipe on Never Skip Dessert and thought it would give me the perfect opportunity to use the cookie press I’ve had stashed in my closet for over a year.  They turned out wonderfully!  They were light and airy with a sweet and mild flavor.  My Betty Crocker Cookie Press soo easy to use – I’ll definitely be adding this to my list of Christmas cookie keepers!
Spritz Cookies (makes 7-8 dozen)Christmas Spritz Cookies via elisebakes
  • 1 ½ cups butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ½ tsp almond extract
  • 3 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Optional: sprinkles, food coloring
  1. In a medium bowl, cream butter and sugar until well combined.
  2. Add egg, milk, vanilla and almond extract; beat well.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour and baking powder; gradually add to creamed mixture, making a smooth dough.  Do not chill.
  4. Place dough into cookie press and press cookies onto ungreased cookie sheet. Sprinkle with sprinkles.
  5. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned around edges [baked 8-10 for me].  Remove cookies from sheet; cool on rack.Christmas Spritz Cookies via elisebakes

9 thoughts on “Christmas Spritz Cookies

  1. Wow! I completely forgot about these cookies! I used to make them as a kid all the time with my grandmother’s vintage cookie press. You’ve inspired me to do this again! And I will try your recipe too!!!

    • That’s great! 🙂 I love reminiscing about past Christmas memories and traditions. Every time I hear Bing Crosby’s White Christmas, it takes me back to being a young girl and snuggling up with my mom to watch White Christmas after spending the day helping her bake cookies.

Leave a comment