English Toffee

English Toffee via elisebakesNothing says Christmas like homemade toffee.  Okay, maybe there are a few things that say Christmas better than toffee BUT it’s still delicious!  We’ll let that logic be – gimme a break, it’s the day after Christmas 🙂  I have been baking and cooking up a storm this past week and am pretty exhausted!

I have to be honest: I screwed this recipe up when I was making it.  I hesitated before cranking the heat up to medium-high, but I did it anyway and overcooked my butter-sugar mixture.  I kept on trucking.  It separated into two layers, so I just poured off the liquid ‘butter’ layer and added the vanilla to the bottom.  It foamed, I poured off the liquid again, mixed up the caramel like layer and spread it out and did everything else as listed.  And hey, it turned out great!  Tasted like toffee, looked like toffee, crunched like toffee – I’d say it’s still toffee.

What you should do is listed below:

English Toffee via elisebakesEnglish Toffee (from in-la-la-land.com)

  • 1/2 cup sugarEnglish Toffee via elisebakes
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • Dash salt
  • 1/2  tsp vanilla
  • 1/2  cup chocolate chips
  • 1/3  cup finely chopped nuts
  1. Cover a baking dish with foil.
  2. Melt butter and sugar over low heat a couple (4-5) drops of water.  When combined, turn heat up to medium (/medium-high), stirring constantly. It will foam rapidly while the water boils out.  Continue to stir as the mixture collapses and thickens – don’t stop until you reach a dark caramel color.
  3. Remove from heat and add vanilla; the mixture will foam again then collapse.
  4. Pour over foil and sprinkle with chocolate chips.
  5. When the chocolate chips have melted enough, spread them evenly across the toffee and sprinkle with nuts.
2 thoughts on “English Toffee

    • Thanks! The original recipe called for all white sugar but I liked the substitution of half brown sugar I saw at in-la-la-land.com and I think it turned out well – even though I almost screwed it up!

Leave a Reply

