Mini Veggie Pot Pies

potpie3After our wedding, my husband and I stored most of our gifts in his parents basement, as our apartment was pretty small.  Well, we recently moved to a bigger place and got to go through all of that fun stuff again.  I came across the mini pie maker I received at my bridal shower and knew it would be one of the first things to get used.  I’m a vegetarian so I made vegetable pot pies, but you could add cooked chicken and mix it in with the veggies if you wanted to!potpie

Pie Crust:piecrustcollage

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks), cold and cut into pieces
  • 1/4 ice cold water
  1. Mix flour, sugar, and salt in a bowl.  Add butter and cut with a pastry knife or fork until crumbly.
  2. Add water by the tablespoon until the crumbs begin to pull together (I only used 3 Tbsp of water).
  3. Place dough on a piece of plastic wrap and knead gently to form a flat round.
  4. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour (if you refrigerate longer than an hour just let it sit on the counter for 15 minutes before you begin rolling it.
  5. Prepare crust for pie maker as directed by machine instructions.  For my Sunbeam pie maker, you roll the dough out to 1/8 in thickness and cut circles out using the cutters provided, 4 1/2 in for bottom, 3 1/2 for top.  Let pie maker preheat, then press bottom crust into the bottom crust plates and place 1/4 – 1/2 cup of filling into pie.  Cover with top crust and trim off excess.
  6. Bake for about 10 minutes.  You could also use mini pie tins and bake them as you would a normal pie.

Notes: Work quickly when putting the crust in the pie maker, it starts to cook the bottom crust almost immediately.  The instruction manual advises using cold pie crust, I’m guessing that this is the reason why.  While I waited for the first batch, I re-rolled the dough and placed it in the fridge to cool.  Make sure you fill the bottom crust a bit overflowing with filling or the top crust will not be in contact with the top part of the machine, preventing it from cooking/browning properly.  This made enough crust and filling for 6 mini pot pies.potpie5

Vegetable Filling:potpie4

  • 1 cup carrots, diced
  • 1/2 cup celery, diced
  • 3/4 cup potatoes, diced
  • 1/3 cup green beans
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. First, cook the potatoes and carrots.  You can do this in the microwave, in boiling water or by steaming them.  Place the carrots in a microwaveable bowl with 1/4 cup water, covering with plastic wrap (with a slit) and microwaving for 3 minutes.  Do the same with the potatoes except with only 3 Tbsp water.
  2.  Melt butter in a sauce pan, add flour, and stirring with a whisk, cook until it starts to turn a golden color.
  3. Add milk and cook until it thickens up.
  4. Stir in the veggies, salt and pepper.
  5. Spoon about 1/4 cup of filling into each mini pie.
2 thoughts on “Mini Veggie Pot Pies

  1. These look really nice Elise, thanks for sharing. I’ve also got a Sunbeam Pie Maker and hoping to make my first pies soon. Can’t decide between savoury veg or lentil pies, or strawberry-rhubarb, which I adore. If there were 48 hours in each day I’d probably make both!
    The machine came with a neat little book with 101 pie recipes in it. Not much though for a veggo or vegan, so I’ll have to put my thinking cap on. I dream of having lots of savoury and sweet mini-pies in freezer to dip into whenever the moment calls for such delights.

    • Mmm, I love strawberry-rhubarb! I can’t wait to try a dessert pie with my pie maker! Lentil would be really good too! I wish you lots of luck on your mini-pie making adventures!!

Leave a Reply

